Pirouettes En Pointe

20190922_162803-ANIMATION.gif

I’ve always had an appreciation for ballet. So much so that at the tender age of four, I declared that it would my profession. See, it’s right there in my “All About Me” book; “When I grow up I want to be a ballerina.”

20190926_0139508000235904764155057.jpg

Fast forward twenty-eight years, and well, I’m not a ballerina, but I do still love ballet. So much so that when I created my vision board on Pinterest a few years ago, I included attending the ballet on a regular basis as a goal of mine.

screenshot_20190926-015134_pinterest3797714459345816300.jpgSo a couple of weeks ago, when I saw that The Russian Ballet Theatre would be performing Swan Lake in my town, on the same exact day that I’d requested time off, (for a prior engagement which ended up getting cancelled) I felt like the heavens had opened up. So I bought my first ticket ever to see a ballet. I was not disappointed. It was everything I’d expected it to be and more. I was completely mesmerized. There was comedy, there was love, and there was drama. The trifecta! Everything ballets are made of. And all of this was relayed without one person ever muttering a word. Everything was relayed through music and body movement, and the dancers did such an amazing job. They were stunning. At no point was I ever lost or confused about was going on. It was altogether just a beautiful work of art. A masterpiece in itself, from the costumes to the choreography, to the stage setting and the orchestra. Everything just worked in harmony to create one of the most beautiful works of art that I’ve ever seen.

Living in such a digital world, it’s easy to forget about the live arts, but I’m so glad that I got the opportunity to see the Russian Ballet Theatre because, really words can’t describe the feeling that watching something live evokes in someone; especially in ballet, because they rely so heavily on their body movement to relay a message. Ballet is definitely an artform for the disciplined, it requires so much strength, so kudos to all of the dancers at RBT for a job well done. I’m so glad that I decided to attend the ballet. It’s a memory that I’ll have for a lifetime and now, I get to check off another pin on my goal board. So here’s to creating new memories and accomplishing new goals.

Leave a comment